Accountancy Faculty Take Peer, IIA Awards

To “attract the best, educate the best, graduate the best” requires the best teachers, and DePaul and the School of Accountancy provide some of the finest teaching scholars in the nation. Thus, it might not be surprising that the school’s Hui Lin, Elizabeth Murphy and Robert Ryan have been awarded the university’s highest teaching honors, nor that our KPMG Professor Sandra Shelton has been named Institute for Internal of Internal Auditors (IIA) Educator of the Year by the Chicago chapter.

Elizabeth Murphy

Elizabeth Murphy

Lin has been named to receive one of the Quality of Instruction Council’s Excellence in Teaching Awards. The university’s highest teaching award, it is presented to professors from each college who best represent teaching innovation, creativity and lasting impact on student learning. The award also draws on student and peer evaluations, and reviews of submitted materials, as well as a statement of teaching philosophy.

“I believe that I not only have a responsibility to convey knowledge to students and evaluate their mastery of course material,” she says, “but also to inspire them to actively pursue learning and become independent thinkers.”

Yet more honors accrue: the indefatigable Elizabeth Murphy (BUS ’74, MBA ’77) was awarded the Driehaus College of Business Gus Economos Graduate Teaching Award. Especially significant is that the annual Economos Award is determined by vote of all graduating students in Kellstadt. Murphy is also well known among both undergraduate and graduate students for her CPA Workshops, serving as advisor to both our Midwest Association of Hispanic Accountants (MAHA) and Graduate Students for Accounting (GSA) student groups, and her efforts to enhance diversity in the profession. Her many contributions have been recognized by the Illinois CPA Society in her 2008 Outstanding Leadership in Advancing Diversity Award and, in 2013, a Special Achievement in Volunteerism Award.

Robert Ryan

Robert Ryan

Rounding out the school’s internal recognition, instructor Robert Ryan was awarded the business college’s Lawrence W. Ryan Undergraduate Teaching Award, for classroom effectiveness. The award is also by student vote. Ryan, like Murphy, a Double Demon (BUS ’75, MST ’86), has also been active in the L&Q Scholarship selection process. While an undergraduate, Ryan took Business Law from Professor Lawrence W. Ryan himself. The course and the professor had a lasting impact.

“Being chosen by the students is especially rewarding, since the reason I teach is to give back to DePaul University, as Larry Ryan did for so many years,” adds the honoree.

Yet more honors: KPMG Professor Sandra Shelton has been named Educator of the Year by the Chicago Chapter of the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA). This is her second such recognition, reflecting both her dedication as an educator and the IIA’s equal determination to improve and enhance internal auditing education.

Shelton takes the title “educator” broadly, and lives the title from the international to the personal: contributing to the IIA Research Foundation’s Global Internal Audit Survey, developing and running DePaul’s Comprehensive Internal Audit Program, teaching forensic accounting and auditing courses, serving as faculty moderator to the school’s National Association of Black Accountants (NABA) chapter, and being an active participant and mentor in The Ph.D. Project, established by KPMG to increase diversity in corporate America through increasing diversity in business school faculties.

With a faculty like this, no wonder so many firms consider DePaul an “educator of choice.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s