Kevin Stevens Appointed to Dean of Loyola University Chicago’s Quinlan School of Business

Kevin StevensAfter 29 years at DePaul, Kevin Stevens is leaving the university to become dean of Loyola University Chicago’s Quinlan School of Business. His last day as director of School of Accountancy and Management Information Systems is June 30.

Stevens has made immeasurable contributions to students, colleagues, the DePaul community and the profession of accountancy during his tenure at DePaul. For the last eight years he led the School of Accountancy and MIS, and this year he took on the additional role of director of global initiatives for the college. Driehaus has benefitted greatly from his successful efforts to attract a distinguished and diverse accountancy faculty, oversee a highly ranked accounting curriculum, strengthen ties to alumni through L&Q and other efforts, raise scholarship funds, cultivate relationships with the accounting industry and advance the international program partnerships.

Stevens also helped shape DePaul’s strategic direction and faculty governance through a variety of previous leadership roles. He served as president of the University Faculty Council, as associate dean at the college, and participated in three university and two college strategic planning committees, the university’s budget committee and DePaul’s tuition pricing committee. In addition, Stevens is a proud alumnus of DePaul, having earned his MS in Taxation. Stevens’s commitment to DePaul’s mission, passion for educating students and sense of humor will be missed.

John Ahern, Associate Professor. DePaul University College of Accounting, Chicago, IL. (DePaul University/Jeff Carrion)

John Ahern, Associate Professor. DePaul University College of Accounting

John Ahern has been appointed interim director for a one-year term beginning July 1. John brings much experience to the position, having previously served as both the director of the school and an associate dean for the college. A talented group of faculty and staff will begin a national search for the new director to join the school during the 2016-2017 academic year. This group includes Bel Needles, John Vitanovec, Mark Frigo, John McEnroe, Molly Mercer, Ning Du, Stephani Mason, Ron Marcuson and Brian Maj. The director of the school is a prestigious and highly visible role and Dean Ray Whittington is optimistic that they will get a number of qualified applicants.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s